Sarah Methner studied stage and costume design at the Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee. Her stage designs are minimalist architectures that focus on core aspects of the respective material and only emerge in the interaction with the performers.
Maximilian Hanisch is a director and performer. He studied acting direction at the Thomas Bernhard Institute of the Mozarteum Salzburg and Expanded Theater at the Bern University of the Arts. In his projects he is constantly searching for new terrain in terms of content and form and chooses the use of means according to the theme.

Hanisch-Methner’s first joint work was created in 2019, and since then they have been developing concepts and projects in close collaboration from the very beginning. In doing so, they constantly participate in each other’s artistic field. A particular interest for them lies in the appropriation of political material, which is still little explored performatively.
In 2019, for example, they created Wer hat Angst vor Niketown? as part of the Treibstoff Theater Days. In 2021, they developed Plattenbauten - Inseln der Gegenwart. The performance was shown at the Europäischen Zentrum der Künste Hellerau, at the Kunstfest Weimar, at TD Berlin and at ROXY Birsfelden. In 2023 they will realize The Conversation at ROXY Birsfelden, a performance about the increasing dangers of surveillance infrastructures.

Website Hanisch-Methner
Website Maximilian Hanisch
Website Sarah Methner

Upcoming dates

Sarah Methner studierte Bühnen- und Kostümbild an der Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee. Ihre Bühnenbilder sind minimalistische Architekturen, die sich auf Kernaspekte des jeweiligen Stoffes konzentrieren und erst in der Interaktion mit den Performer*innen entstehen.
Maximilian Hanisch ist Regisseur und Performer. Er studierte Schauspielregie am Thomas Bernhard Institut des Mozarteums Salzburg und Expanded Theater an der Hochschule der Künste Bern. In seinen Projekten ist er beständig auf der Suche nach inhaltlich und formal neuem Terrain und wählt den Einsatz der Mittel entsprechend dem Thema.

Die erste gemeinsame Arbeit von Hanisch-Methner entstand 2019. Seitdem entwickeln sie Konzepte und Projekte von Anfang an in enger Zusammenarbeit. Dabei beteiligen sie sich konstant im jeweils anderen künstlerischen Feld. Ein besonderes Interesse liegt für sie in der Aneignung von politischen Stoffen, die performativ noch wenig erforscht sind.
So entstand 2019 im Rahmen der Treibstoff Theatertage Wer hat Angst vor Niketown?. 2021 entwickelten sie Plattenbauten - Inseln der Gegenwart. Die Performance war am Europäischen Zentrum der Künste Hellerau, beim Kunstfest Weimar, im TD Berlin und am ROXY Birsfelden zu sehen. 2023 werden sie im ROXY Birsfelden mit The Conversation eine Performance über die zunehmenden Gefahren von Infrastrukturen zur Überwachung realisieren.

Webseite Hanisch-Methner
Webseite Maximilian Hanisch
Webseite Sarah Methner

Bevorstehende Termine