Image from Chantier
Image from Chantier Image from Chantier

PIANO VERTICAL was created in 2013 with the intention of inverting the codes and proposing, through its reversal, a different look at the piano. The grand piano is suspended in the air, vertically. Inside and outside, in unusual or prestigious settings, the notes play with the weightlessness. The project has been presented in its initial form on more than 120 occasions, in Switzerland and around the world.

With the project “CHANTIER”, the ambition is even more refined: the perspective is imposed by the situation of the piano and the public in a very precise frame - the building site, at a defined hour - the dawn. The scenography is in place: the crane moves, the piano flies, the performance is sucked in by the set.

This contextualization aims to bring a naked look to the common, like James Turrell’s skyspaces. The site invites us to play with opposites: night and day, the accessible and the forbidden, the dirty and the flashy.
The final intention? To leave a trace, a memory in an emblematic building site of the city. With “CHANTIER”, the view of the site changes: the work in erection is no longer just a mirror of its primary function.
More than a variation of the original project, “CHANTIER” constitutes a creation in itself, which materializes a new cycle in the creative process of Boll&Roche Cie.

by Alain Roche

Cast

designer, composer, performer ALAIN ROCHE
staging STÉPHANIE BOLL
technical director STÉPHANE GATTONI
sound BENOÎT SAILLET
lighting MARIO TORCHIO
piano service MATTHIAS MAURER
piano mechanism FERNAND KUMMER
management GREG ZAVIALOFF
production manager EMILIEN ROSSIER
photography OLIVIER CARREL
production BOLL & ROCHE CIE
Co-production FERME-ASILE SION (CH) THÉÂTRE DE CAROUGE (CH), LE CASTRUM YVERDON (CH), TONES OF STONES VERBANIA (IT)

Image from PIANO VERTICAL | Chantier
Image from PIANO VERTICAL | Chantier Image from PIANO VERTICAL | Chantier

PIANO VERTICAL wurde 2013 mit der Absicht geschaffen, die Codes umzukehren und durch seine Umkehrung einen anderen Blick auf das Klavier vorzuschlagen. Der Flügel hängt vertikal in der Luft. Drinnen wie draussen, in ungewöhnlichen oder prestigeträchtigen Umgebungen, spielen die Noten mit der Schwerelosigkeit. Das Projekt wurde in seiner ursprünglichen Form bereits über 120 Mal in der Schweiz und weltweit aufgeführt.

Mit dem Projekt CHANTIER wird der Anspruch noch weiter verfeinert: Die Perspektive wird durch das Zusammenspiel von Klavier und Publikum in einem bestimmten Rahmen - der Baustelle - zu einer bestimmten Uhrzeit - dem Morgengrauen - vorgegeben. Das Bühnenbild steht: Der Kran bewegt sich, das Klavier fliegt, die Performance wird in das Bühnenbild hineingezogen.

Diese Kontextualisierung zielt darauf ab, einen nackten Blick auf das Gewöhnliche zu werfen, ähnlich wie bei James Turrells Skyspaces. Die Baustelle lädt dazu ein, mit Gegensätzen zu spielen: die Nacht mit dem Tag, das Zugängliche mit dem Verbotenen, das Schmutzige mit dem Glitzernden.
Die endgültige Absicht? Eine Spur, eine Erinnerung in einer symbolträchtigen Baustelle der Stadt zu hinterlassen. Mit CHANTIER ändert sich der Blick auf die Baustelle: Das errichtete Bauwerk ist nicht mehr nur ein Spiegel seiner eigentlichen Funktion.
CHANTIER ist nicht nur eine Abwandlung des ursprünglichen Projekts, sondern eine eigenständige Kreation, die einen neuen Zyklus im kreativen Prozess von Boll & Roche Cie. darstellt.

von Alain Roche

Besetzung

Konzept, Komposition, Interpretation Alain Roche
Inszenierung Stéphanie Boll
Technische Leitung Stéphane Gattoni
Tontechnik Benoît Saillet
Licht Mario Torchio
Klavierdienst Matthias Maurer
Klaviermechanik Fernand Kummer
Direktion Greg Zavialoff
Produktion Emilien Rossier / oh la la - performing arts production
Fotografie Olivier Carrel
Produktion Boll & Roche Cie.
Koproduktionen Ferme-Asile Sion (CH), Théâtre de Carouge (CH), Le Castrum Yverdon (CH), Tones of stones Verbania (IT)