Image from Chantier
Image from Chantier Image from Chantier

PIANO VERTICAL was created in 2013 with the intention of inverting the codes and proposing, through its reversal, a different look at the piano. The grand piano is suspended in the air, vertically. Inside and outside, in unusual or prestigious settings, the notes play with the weightlessness. The project has been presented in its initial form on more than 120 occasions, in Switzerland and around the world.

With the project “CHANTIER”, the ambition is even more refined: the perspective is imposed by the situation of the piano and the public in a very precise frame - the building site, at a defined hour - the dawn. The scenography is in place: the crane moves, the piano flies, the performance is sucked in by the set.

This contextualization aims to bring a naked look to the common, like James Turrell’s skyspaces. The site invites us to play with opposites: night and day, the accessible and the forbidden, the dirty and the flashy.
The final intention? To leave a trace, a memory in an emblematic building site of the city. With “CHANTIER”, the view of the site changes: the work in erection is no longer just a mirror of its primary function.
More than a variation of the original project, “CHANTIER” constitutes a creation in itself, which materializes a new cycle in the creative process of Boll&Roche Cie.

by Alain Roche

Cast

designer, composer, performer ALAIN ROCHE
staging STÉPHANIE BOLL
technical director STÉPHANE GATTONI
sound BENOÎT SAILLET
lighting MARIO TORCHIO
piano service MATTHIAS MAURER
piano mechanism FERNAND KUMMER
management GREG ZAVIALOFF
production manager EMILIEN ROSSIER
photography OLIVIER CARREL
production BOLL & ROCHE CIE
Co-production FERME-ASILE SION (CH) THÉÂTRE DE CAROUGE (CH), LE CASTRUM YVERDON (CH), TONES OF STONES VERBANIA (IT)

Image from PIANO VERTICAL | “Chantier“ Image from PIANO VERTICAL | “Chantier“
Image from PIANO VERTICAL | “Chantier“ Image from PIANO VERTICAL | “Chantier“

PIANO VERTICAL a été créé en 2013 dans le dessein d’inverser les codes et de proposer, par son renversement, un regard autre sur le piano. Le piano à queue est suspendu dans les airs, à la verticale. A l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur, dans des cadres insolites ou prestigieux, les notes se jouent de l’apesanteur. Le projet a été présenté sous sa forme initiale à plus de 120 reprises, en Suisse et dans le monde.

Avec le projet CHANTIER, l’ambition s’affine encore: la perspective est imposée par la mise en situation du piano et du public dans un cadre bien précis – le chantier, à une heure définie - l’aurore. La scénographie est en place: la grue se meut, le piano vole, la performance est aspirée par le décor.

Cette mise en contexte vise à faire porter un regard nu sur le commun, à l’image des skyspaces de James Turrell. Le chantier invite à se jouer des opposés: la nuit au jour, l’accessible à l’interdit, le sale au clinquant.
L’intention finale? Laisser une trace, un souvenir dans un chantier emblématique de la ville. Avec “CHANTIER”, le regard sur celui-ci évolue: l’ouvrage en érection n’est plus seulement le miroir de sa fonction première.
Plus qu’une déclinaison du projet originel, “CHANTIER” constitue une création en soi, qui matérialise un nouveau cycle dans le processus créatif de Boll&Roche Cie.

par Alain Roche

Distribution

designer, composer, performer ALAIN ROCHE
staging STÉPHANIE BOLL
technical director STÉPHANE GATTONI
sound BENOÎT SAILLET
lighting MARIO TORCHIO
piano service MATTHIAS MAURER
piano mechanism FERNAND KUMMER
management GREG ZAVIALOFF
production manager EMILIEN ROSSIER / oh la la - performing arts production
photography OLIVIER CARREL
production BOLL & ROCHE CIE
Co-production FERME-ASILE SION (CH) THÉÂTRE DE CAROUGE (CH), LE CASTRUM YVERDON (CH), TONES OF STONES VERBANIA (IT)