Ethereal Realms – all fiction is metaphor is a transdisciplinary performance based on Ursula K. Le Guin’s 1969 feminist science fiction novel, The Left Hand of Darkness. This exploration story is a tale of survival and learning to come together. Ethereal Realms – all fiction is metaphor embodies the reminiscence of a Baroque opera infused with a soundscape blending sounds of undefined time and space. Wander and lose yourself in a labyrinth of signs and sounds, mirrors and moments, while reflecting on the complexities of identity, connection, and belonging. Embark on a journey where Marie Delprat’s music and Ursula K. Le Guin’s deconstructed language create a post-human playground for contemporary reflections on the science fiction metaphor.

Le Guin asserts that all fiction is metaphorical. In our fiction, the lines of sex, becoming, belonging, and world-making are not simply this, that, or neither; they are all something not yet imagined by humanity.

by Marie Delprat

Cast

Concept, music, performance Marie Delprat
Concept, direction Aïda Gabriëls
Concept, dramaturgy advice Katelyn King
Scenography :mentalKLINIK
Lights Elia Huber
Sound design Maxime Le Saux
Costumes Maarten van Mulken
Distortion, e-guitar (recording) David Koch
Stage management Yesid Fonseca
Production and diffusion Maxine Devaud / oh la la – perfoming arts production
Administration Angie Menillo / oh la la - performing arts production
Coproductions Dampfzentrale Bern, Gare du Nord Basel
Supports Kultur Stadt Bern, SWISSLOS/Kultur Kanton Bern, Fachausschuss Musik BS/BL, Pro Helvetia - Fondation suisse pour la culture, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Fondation Nicati-de Luze, Burgergemeinde Bern, Schweizerische Interpretenstiftung SIS, UBS Culture Foundation

Special thanks to Lena Meyskens & Thomas Giger

Upcoming dates

Ethereal Realms - all fiction is metaphor ist eine transdisziplinäre Performance, die auf Ursula K. Le Guins feministischem Science-Fiction-Roman The Left Hand of Darkness von 1969 basiert. Diese Erkundungsgeschichte ist eine Geschichte über das Überleben und das Lernen, zusammenzukommen. Ethereal Realms - all fiction is metaphor verkörpert die Reminiszenz an eine Barockoper, in der sich Klänge aus undefinierter Zeit und Raum vermischen. In einem Labyrinth aus Zeichen und Klängen, Spiegeln und Momenten wandern und sich verlieren, während über die Komplexität von Identität, Verbindung und Zugehörigkeit nachdenken. Sich auf eine Reise begeben, auf der die Musik von Marie Delprat und die dekonstruierte Sprache von Ursula K. Le Guin einen posthumanen Spielplatz für zeitgenössische Überlegungen zur Science-Fiction-Metapher schaffen.

Le Guin behauptet, dass alle Fiktion metaphorisch ist. In unserer Fiktion sind die Grenzen von Sex, Werden, Zugehörigkeit und Weltgestaltung nicht einfach dies, das oder keines von beiden; sie sind alle etwas, das sich die Menschheit noch nicht vorstellen kann.

von Marie Delprat

Besetzung

Konzept, Musik, Performance Marie Delprat
Konzept, Regie Aïda Gabriëls
Konzept, dramaturgische Begleitung Katelyn King
Bühnenbild :mentalKLINIK
Licht Elia Huber
Sounddesign Maxime Le Saux
Costumes Maarten van Mulken
Distortion, electric guitar (recording) David Koch
Technik Yesid Fonseca
Produktion und Diffusion Maxine Devaud / oh la la – perfoming arts production
Administration Angie Menillo / oh la la - performing arts production
Koproduktionen Dampfzentrale Bern, Gare du Nord Basel
Förderungen Kultur Stadt Bern, SWISSLOS/Kultur Kanton Bern, Fachausschuss Musik BS/BL, Pro Helvetia - Fondation suisse pour la culture, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Fondation Nicati-de Luze, Burgergemeinde Bern, Schweizerische Interpretenstiftung SIS, UBS Culture Foundation

Danke an Lena Meyskens & Thomas Giger.

Bevorstehende Termine